A total of 7,777.07 crores of capital fund has been released for the 21 new AIIMS Projects. 21 states of the nation will now be home to the new All India Institute of Medical Sciences. Out of these 21 new AIIMS, 6 are already functioning. The Government has made available funds to new AIIMS projects in the country, to enhance facilities/infrastructure.

The states where the new All India Institute of Medical Sciences (AIIMS) have been homed are Andhra Pradesh, Assam, Bihar, Chhattisgarh, Gujarat, Haryana, Himachal Pradesh, Jammu, Kashmir, Jharkhand, Madhya Pradesh, Maharashtra, Odisha, Punjab, Rajasthan, Tamil Nadu, Telangana, Uttar Pradesh, Uttrakhand, and West Bengal.

Each of these states is now providing land to one new AIIMS. However, Uttar Pradesh is housing 2 new AIIMS, one in Raebareli and the other one in Gorakhpur.

Out of all the 21 AIIMS, the AIIMS of Bihar, Chhattisgarh, Madhya Pradesh, Odisha, Rajasthan, and Uttrakhand are functional. The AIIMS in other states are under construction.

To take admission in AIIMS, the candidates have to qualify the entrance exam that is conducted by AIIMS. The admission in AIIMS is not on the basis of NEET. AIIMS conduct their own entrance exam for admission in various branches of Medicine, Dentistry, Nursing Biotechnology, and Paramedical.

The UG courses that are offered in AIIMS are MBBS, B.Sc. (Hons), B.Sc. (Post Basic), B.Sc. (Hons) in Medical Technology in Radiography and the Bachelor of Optometry.

The PG courses that AIIMS offers are MD/MS/MCh(6yrs)/DM(6yrs), MD (Hospital Administration), MDS, MSc (Nursing), M Biotech and MSc.

The super specialization courses that are offered in AIIMS are DM, MCh and Fellowship Programme and the Ph.D. courses are also offered.

Now in all the nation has 11 functional AIIMS and 12 under construction AIIMS. This makes a total of 23 AIIMS in India. AIIMS New Delhi is the oldest functional AIIMS of the nation.

The All India Institutes of Medical Sciences (AIIMS) are a group of autonomous public medical colleges of higher education. These institutes have been declared by an Act of Parliament as Institutes of National Importance.

For more updates stay connected to AglaSem news!